Purchasing Photo Mats and Accessories Locally

PNWPhotos.com a friendly and growing community of photographers with an interest in the Pacific Northwest region. We feature a Photography Discussion Forum and Pacific Northwest Photo Gallery. It's a fun and friendly place to talk with other photographers, ask questions, share you knowledge, view and post photos and more!

dchairet

I'm looking to start matting some prints which I've never done before. I'd like to be able to buy mats individually as I need them and some accessories like mounting strips, double-stick photo tape, hinging tape and so on, but I'm wondering if it's possible to find this stuff in a retail store rather than just online. I live in the Portland metro area and I might recall seeing some mats at Fred Meyer and Michael's Crafts, but I'm not sure. Any suggestions?

BobH

Administrator
Staff member
Micheals has a very nice selection of stock mattes and frames. I frequently buy both from them. Watch your mail and newspaper for specials from Micheals, seems like they have sales on a very frequent basis.

They also offer custom mattes and framing. They will cut mattes to whatever oddball size you need and can create custom frames as well. The results are very nice, at least at our local store.

The only negative I have to say about the custom work is that it comes with custom prices to match. Once again, they often have sales and discounts that help, especially if you can be patient. But the costs add up pretty quickly, so keep that in mind.

You almost certainly can also find a custom framing place nearby. They typically do a great job too, but you'll face the same problem of quality work being expensive.

Another store I really like is Aaron Brothers. Huge selection of quality products at a reasonable price. Unfortunately, they've closed my local store, though there's still one a couple towns away.

Last edited:

BobH

Administrator
Staff member