Red-Tailed Hawk

PNWPhotos.com a friendly and growing community of photographers with an interest in the Pacific Northwest region. We feature a Photography Discussion Forum and Pacific Northwest Photo Gallery. It's a fun and friendly place to talk with other photographers, ask questions, share you knowledge, view and post photos and more!

Deka

Up....
#4886.jpg
And AT ME!!!
#4887.jpg
I must have been very interesting to look at because I was flown by a couple of times.
As an aside - I'm still learning my new lens so I'm sorry for the shot being OOF. :(

Deka

Good shots. I wonder if it had a nest nearby. Redtails are very shy and will usually fly off to the next telephone pole down the road as you approach.

I'm fairly sure that there is a mated pair. I've not been able to locate a nest but that does not mean it is not in the area.
There is some activity in the area (a cemetery) but it does have a water source, large evergreen and deciduous trees, open fields and lots of wild life.
I'm thinking they have a very nice territory except for the occasional crowd of folks.
Thank you for the 'good shots', Bill. I've enjoyed your photographs for some time and am in the process of learning to be better than I currently am.
Next time I go, I'm going to try to use shutter priority to see if I can get some better shots.
Deka

Thank you for the tip!
Being new to my camera (T4i) and lens (Tamron 150-600mm), I have to admit I'm a little lost.
I enjoy nature's treasures and hope to learn how to capture them so others can enjoy them as well.

Deka

Digital cameras make for fast learning curves with instant feed back and no film to buy and be developed.

Very true, but....the learning curve for me is not so fast. LOL
Limited time (weekends) to experiment and I'm a bit overwhelmed with all of the options available.